Coed Varsity Cross Country · Brilliant Night for Fox Creek!

  Place Points
Fox Creek High School 1st 27

The Predators brought home the hardware on Tuesday night at the Edgefield County Championships. The boys team dominated, placing 7 runners in the top 10, to win back the Ten Governors Cup. The girls team gave a gutsy performance to squeak out a victory and win the inaugural Girls Championship race.

David Witt was the individual champion, setting a new personal best time in the process. He withheld an initial challenge from reigning county champion Chase Beagles and then dominated the 3rd mile to put away Strom Thurmond’s James Creasy. Witt covered the difficult Fox Creek Course in 19:58. One of the strongest performances of the day was put in by Trey Armstrong. The first year runner finished in 6th place overall (3rd for FC) in only his second race. Also scoring for Fox Creek were Kenneth Miller (5th), Anthony Monaco (7th), and Spencer South (8th).

On the girls side, Thurmond’s Graycen Sanders made it a three-peat, winning the individual title for the third year in a row and setting a new course record in the process (22:38). In second place was Fox Creek’s Brennley Furness. Brennley shaved another 20 seconds off her personal best time to close in on the school record. Juliana Guest finished in 4th, breaking the 30 minute mark in only her second race. The other scorers were Anna Smith (5th), Ana Albornoz (7th) , and Kenzie Tullis (8th). Kenzie probably ran the gutsiest race of anybody. She fought through some back pain to finish the race and that was the difference between winning and losing for the girls. Chloe Bowman and Jadie Brooks also ran their best races of the year.

Photo Creds: Lily Strawn & Chloe Blackburn

Boys Team Results
1 Fox Creek 27
2 Wardlaw 49
3 Strom Thurmond 58

1 David Witt 19:58 FC
2 James Creasy 20:13 ST
3 Ethan Anderson 21:05 W
4 Briggs Williams 21:10 W
5 Kenneth Miller 21:24 FC
6 Trey Armstrong 21:52 FC
7 Anthony Monaco 22:03 FC
8 Spencer South 22:12 FC
9 Sam Godbee 23:04 FC
10 Dalton Sanders 23:14 FC
11 Jesse Elkins 23:28 ST
12 Pete Orrico 24:47 W
13 Bryson Carpenter25:01 FC
14 Chase Beagles 25:13 ST
15 Alex Smith 26:20 W
16 Gavin Glass 26:25 FC
17 Evan Wright 26:46 FC
18 LaSavion Johnson27:05 ST
19 Walter Poole 27:18 FC
20 Kaleb Williams 28:04 W
21 Ephraim Somerville28:13 ST
22 Theo Heos 29:29 ST
23 Korbin Williams 30:01 W
24 Chuck Hammond30:47 W
25 Dylan Buck 31:03 W
26 Willie Bonds 32:15 ST
27 Collin Holsomback33:22 W
28 Cole Beagles 38:08 ST
29 Isaac Whatley 39:01 W
30 Adam Ruth 42:33 W

Girls Team Results
1 Fox Creek 26
2 Strom Thurmond 30

1 Graycen Sanders 22:38 ST
2 Brennley Furness 25:24 FC
3 Silvia Huston 28:22 ST
4 Juliana Guest 29:55 FC
5 Anna Smith 33:04 FC
6 Julie Wagher 33:25 ST
7 Ana Albornoz 34:50 FC
8 Makenzie Tullis 35:23 FC
9 ST
10 Chloe Bowman 39:49 FC
11 Xenia Somerville46:26 ST